Argentine FlagEmbassy of Argentina in Australia


ARGENTINA in BRIEF Back ] Next ]


North-West | The Pampas | Mesopotamia | Cuyo | North-East | Patagonia | Antarctica

Argentina, the second-largest country in Latin America, occupies most of the southern part of the South American continent.  It is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean in the east and south; its neighbours are Brazil and Uruguay to the North-east and east, Bolivia and Paraguay to the north and Chile to the West.  The terrain is made up mostly of Low or Flatlands, although it also features some major mountain ranges and tablelands situated at a high altitude above sea level.  Argentina is a federal country, divided into 23 provinces which have the same political status as the Australian states. The country is divided geographically into six regions: the Pampas, the North-West, Cuyo, the North-East, Mesopotamia, and the Patagonia and South Atlantic Islands, Malvinas being the largest.  Like Australia, Argentina also claims sovereignty rights over part of Antarctica.

North-west region

Ischigualasto, Valle de la Luna, San Juan The provinces of the North-west region include  Jujuy, Salta, Tucuman, Catamarca and La Rioja.  The North-west is a mountainous region, which includes Andean peaks of up to 7,000 metres above sea level.  A high plateau, the Puna, lies near the Chilean and Bolivian border.  Fruit, olives, wine, sugar, minerals, oil, and gas are the main produce of this sparsely-populated area.



The Pampas

The provinces of this area are: Buenos Aires, Santa Fe, La Pampa and the south eastern part of Córdoba.  It is situated in the central-eastern region of Argentina, formed by vast expanses of plains and pastures. It covers approximately one quarter of Argentina's total land area. The soils are among the richest in the world.  The Pampas can be subdivided into the eastern, humid pampas and the dry pampas to the West.  The humid pampas has an average rainfall of 1,000 millimeters per year.  Agriculture in the area includes the growing of wheat, corn and oil seeds, and the grazing of great herds of cattle on the extensive plains.  Industrial production extends over the provinces of Buenos Aires, Santa Fe and Cordoba.  Of all regions, The Pampas has the largest population, the main city  being Buenos Aires which has a population of 12,000,000.



WaterfallThe provinces of Misiones, Corrientes and Entre Rios lie in this region.  Like the ancient Mesopotamia of the Middle East, this is a fertile valley between two rivers—the Uruguay and Paraná.  The area features plains, jungles, hills and swamps, as well as the spectacular Iguazu falls.  In addition to a great variety of wildlife, the region sustains a strong subtropical agriculture, as well as beef production and forestry, timber, and paper industries.




Parque Provincial Aconcagua, MendozaThis region in the center-west of Argentina covers the provinces of Mendoza, San Luis and San Juan. Located in Mendoza is the highest mountain of America, the Aconcagua (6,959 metres). Mendoza and San Juan are the country's most important provinces for wine production, and sources of mineral and thermal waters. The region is also endowed with a large irrigation potential and important deposits of minerals and fuels.  The most significant natural products are fruit, wine, oil and gas, whereas the most significant manufacturing activities are the excellent metallurgical industry and the manufacture of foodstuffs.




Bañado de la Estrella, FormosaThis region, called the Chaco, includes the provinces of Chaco, Formosa and the North of Santiago del Estero.  With the daily summer temperatures averaging 23°C, the Chaco has a warm climate.  The flat land has large areas of forest, some of which has been cleared for stock grazing and crop farming.  Cotton, vegetables and cattle breeding are the main sources of agricultural production.




PatagoniaThis region is the largest and includes the provinces of Rio Negro, Neuquén, Chubut, Santa Cruz, Tierra del Fuego and the South Atlantic Islands.  Its arid windy plateau covers most of the southern part of Argentina.  It has a cool climate but little rainfall; less than 250 millimetres on average a year.  Less than three per cent of the total population of Argentina lives in this area.  Fruit growing in the Andean Region is the main agricultural activity, while oil, gas, aluminium and fisheries are great sources of economic activity.  The mountains of the Andes in these areas are not as high as in the rest of Argentina, but some peaks reach heights of more than 2,000 metres above sea level.  Near the Colorado and Negro rivers, are located large apple, pear and plum plantations, whereas the southern region supplies most of Argentina's oil and gas.  The Province of Tierra del Fuego includes the Islands of the South Atlantic, like Malvinas and Georgias del Sur.  The city of Ushuaia in Tierra del Fuego is the most southern city in the world.


Antarctica Argentina claims sovereignty rights over 970,000 square kilometres of Antarctica. The first visit by Argentineans was in 1881.  Argentina   now has four scientific bases in Antarctica, which include housing, education and health facilities.



You are welcome to use the contents of this web page mentioning the source (Disclaimer)